What’s your number?

Not your phone number.

How many people you’ve slept with..

I actually watched that movie today called “What’s your number?” The cute romantic comedy about the girl who has slept with 20 guys and she doesn’t want to go over 20 so she has a guy friend help her stalk down her exes. Turns out the hot musician neighbor who is helping her, falls in love with her. How typical? And a cliche adorable ending where she runs and finds him. Now to be quite honest with you’ve I’ve been asked this before on a couple different occasions. Why do guys think that it’s OK to ask us that so nonchalantly? Apparently it makes a big deal as to whether or not you would like to sleep with me or not. So if I told you 54 would you be excited cause I’d have experience or think that I have herpes, syphilis, trafectiod or whatever the latest STD is (I  made that last one up). And if I said 1 would you think I’m a prude bitch who has had one so called “lover” her whole life? So what is the perfect number? I’d like to know.

The other thing is…How do you know I’m telling the truth? Last time I checked I didn’t have a stamp next to my vagina letting you know how many people got into my Garden of Eden. Obviously if I’m in a relationship with someone I would tell the truth. And if I cared enough and thought maybe you deserved to know, maybe I’d let you know. MAYBE. I just don’t understand why it’s used to lightly with guys. Well maybe I do, because with guys the higher the number the cooler you are. But with girls, if your number is high, your a skank. My advice would be to keep things left unsaid, this could cause some fights as well. I know some people that when they first started dating it was just a ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’. But if you think you could actually invest some time and feelings into this person then maybe you should. My ex boyfriend and I got into a couple fights about each others number. He pretty much forgot to mention someone. It can also be a tricky subject if it’s a mutual friend or someone you know. Like I could never look at this girl the same. I sure as hell wasn’t going to ask her if she wanted to split a bagel with me at Panera anytime soon. But it’s something I shouldn’t have been worried about. It wasn’t about the number. It was that he forgot? Sorry I mentioned you btw, you know that I’m going to have to talk about you at some point. 4 years is just too long to not have ANY stories 🙂

Marie Claire surveyed 19,638 women, and the majority has there number lying in the 4-10 department, with 1-3 being a close tie.

0  9.95%  (1,953 votes)
1 to 3  24.6%  (4,831 votes)
4 to 10  30.42%  (5,973 votes)
11 to 25  21.73%  (4,267 votes)
26 to 40  7.38%  (1,449 votes)
More than 41  5.93%  (1,165 votes)
Total Votes: 19,638
kn
BUT Honestly, if he’s a real gentlemen, it won’t matter. The way I see it, he should be looking at your future, not what happened in the past.
dfghsdhf
“The past cannot be changed, forgotten, edited, or erased – it can only be accepted.”
XOXO Court
 
16 thoughts on “What’s your number?

  1. Yeahhhh! *claps for this post*

    I totally agree with things you said here. In all long term relationships some form of this question will come up. What makes it “ok” to ask in my opinion, is whether the answer will make a difference or not. When my ex-husband and I finally got around to this question, it was a moot point by then. We both knew we wanted to be with one another, and that no matter what I said (or what he said) would not have mattered, and it was just a point of curiosity and nothing more.

    I say, share this information only if you feel comfortable with the person you are with, and are if you are comfortable that the person asking is asking for the “right” reason. (The right reason may be different for you or me or anyone else…am I totally rambling here? Ack … this response got a bit long … sorry.)

    • No not at all thank you for the feedback! I love it and completely agree 100%! It’s about the reasoning behind it. Thanks alot 🙂 and thank you for reading!

  2. Ok first of all if you had slept with 54 men, I would be worried for all of man kind. I don’t think it is possible for that to happen. But I could be wrong because even a blind squirrel can find a nut every once in awhile. In your case it’s a drunken hooker can find dick from a random at a bar who gives her the slightest bit of attention. XOXO You’re still a hooker

    • First off I’d like to say that I’m proud that you corrected your grammar from the last time. Except you failed miserably with that second to last sentence cause it makes no sense. Regarding the sleeping with 54 people thing…no obviously I haven’t.
      Telling lies and playing girls is what hookers do. I think you have it mixed up. See I’m a smart girl if you hadn’t heard already. They don’t throw the word “hooker” around like it’s “good morning” cause they’re smarter than that 🙂
      XOXO
      This smart girl
      P.S Thank you for humoring me for the evening

    • im a guy and i think that everything you have written has been great. who cares what this tool says? i don’t really get what he’s sayin but don’t let it influence you in anyway. keep up the cool posts
      forget that dude

  3. Court ~ You are young. You are fun. You are witty. You have fears. You have conviction. You call yourself a bitch (but you are not). And you are inspirational. Yup, yup. To me you are. I love reading your blogs. They make me think of how I wish I was when I was your age. And so I am nomination you for the Inspirational Blog Award. I’m also choosing this particular blog to place it on … as this one really touched off a lot of comments and dialog. It made people think. (Yes, you got a weird post from someone … but pftt to them. I thought it was a GREAT blog.) And … thank you also, for becoming a blog friend. Yah you!

    • This is the best comment I have ever received! Obviously I haven’t been doing this too long, but I’m learning and I wouldn’t be posting as often if it wasn’t for you and other bloggers! You have no idea how much this made me smile! Thank you! You are too sweet!
      Thank YOU 🙂
      xoxo

  4. Pingback: Inspiring Blog Award :) | Hopeless Romantic.

  5. The number you refer to is forever moving, and it’s also very subjective and relative from one person to another.
    Unfortunately this same thinking lends itself to the fact that, what you might think of as a reasonable ‘number’ is not necessarily what your partner/future partner may also think is suitable, and obviously vice-versa.
    Throw into the mix that fact that we ourselves are forever changing and adapting and re-evaluating, what your might deem ‘acceptable’ today may in 10 years time seem like a drop in the ocean, or maybe not, who’s to say.
    I’m going to throw it out there and say that everyone will eventually have a – ‘this many and no further’, but i’m pretty sure even if they had reached that point they will never tell you as they will know it will upset you.
    If they are the ‘right one’ I really don’t think it will seriously be an issue, they only thing on either of your minds should be wanting to ensure that you are their last number.

    • Completely agree. People get so hung up on it and can’t move on. Maybe it has to do with maturity? Because you are absolutely right, the “right one” won’t care about that number anymore…they will just wanna be your last number 🙂
      Well said! Thanks for reading!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

